Bustem vs Red Points: which brand protection service fits your brand?

Updated 14 Oct 20266 min readMatt Richard, Takedown

TL;DR

  • Weigh Takedown alongside both: a managed brand protection service for consumer brands: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files across marketplaces, copycat stores and lookalike domains, social accounts and ad libraries, with new US trademark filings in your classes watched, from $500 a month.
  • Pick Bustem if you want one team to file across marketplaces, social media and copycat sites, with no annual contract.
  • Pick Red Points if you sell across many regional marketplaces and want each one priced and covered under a flat fee.
  • Every fact about Bustem and Red Points is from their own sites, read 14 Oct 2026.

Bustem and Red Points are both managed brand protection services, so the choice comes down to who does the work, what is covered and what it costs. This page starts with Takedown, then sets out what Bustem and Red Points share, where they differ, and how to move from one to the other.

Before you choose: Takedown

Takedown is a managed brand protection service for consumer brands: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files across marketplaces, copycat stores and lookalike domains, social accounts and ad libraries, with new US trademark filings in your classes watched. It starts at $500 a month, month to month, and the quote comes with a free 360° report of what is copying your brand, so you can weigh it against both before you pay.

  • You want sign-off on everything filed in your name. At Takedown a person checks every match, and nothing is filed under your brand until you approve the case. That keeps control of what goes to marketplaces, hosts and registrars under your trademark, with the evidence for each case in front of whoever approves it.
  • You want a price before a sales call. Takedown starts at $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in, and the quote comes with a free 360° report of what is copying your brand now. Bustem does not publish a price.
  • You want new trademark filings watched. Takedown watches US (USPTO) applications and registrations that use your brand name in your goods classes, and puts the recent ones up for review first. Bustem's site does not mention a trademark filing watch.

What Bustem and Red Points have in common

Last updated: 14 Oct 2026. At a high level, both find copies of a brand online and get them taken down. Specifically:

  • Both are managed brand protection services.
  • Both cover copycat websites and lookalike domains, marketplace listings and social media accounts.
  • Both offer a free trial, scan or report before you pay.

That said, they differ on who does the work, what each covers and price, and on some of these Bustem is the better buy, on others Red Points is.

Who does the work

Bustem. Managed. AI flags listings, Bustem's enforcement team confirms them and files under a Power of Attorney the brand signs. With Bustem, its team files the reports for you.

Red Points. A detection and takedown platform the brand can run itself, or have fully managed by Red Points' team, on flat fees rather than per takedown. With Red Points, you file on some platforms and its team files on others.

What each one covers

Bustem

  • Copycat websites and lookalike domains: Yes. Copycat sites on hosts such as Shopify and WordPress, including host shutdowns and domain seizures.
  • Marketplace listings: Yes. Amazon, Walmart, eBay, AliExpress, Etsy, Alibaba, Temu and SHEIN.
  • Social media accounts: Yes. Meta, Instagram, TikTok Shop and Pinterest.
  • Paid ads: Partly. Google is listed; ad coverage is not detailed.
  • Trademark filing watch: Not stated on its site
  • App stores: Not stated on its site

Red Points

  • Copycat websites and lookalike domains: Yes. Fake websites and domains; an optional add-on in the self-serve configurator.
  • Marketplace listings: Yes. It claims 5,000+ marketplaces, including Amazon, eBay, AliExpress, Walmart, Temu, TikTok Shop, Shopee and MercadoLibre.
  • Social media accounts: Yes
  • Paid ads: Yes
  • Trademark filing watch: Not stated on its site
  • App stores: Yes. Mobile apps.

Price

  • Bustem: Not published. Its site says 'No Annuals, No Lock-Ins'.
  • Red Points: Self-serve configurator: Brand Protection Plan $938/month (unlimited detections and takedowns), plus trademarks from $174/month for one trademark and marketplaces priced separately (Amazon, 19 domains, $285/month; all marketplaces and domains $820/month). Fake website protection is an optional add-on. Billed monthly, no setup fees; the order form asks for at least $1,250 a month. Managed tiers (Starter, Professional, Enterprise) are quoted on request.

A published price usually means software you run yourself, with caps on removals or marketplaces. An unpublished one usually means people do the reviewing and filing, and the quote depends on how many brands and platforms you need covered. Ask what the tier you are quoted actually includes.

Where each one is the better buy

Bustem

  • ROI guarantee: It publishes a 500% ROI guarantee on its homepage, with the line 'if we can't deliver at least 5x ROI, you shouldn't work with us'. Few managed services put a stated return in writing before the first call, so you have a benchmark to hold the service to.
  • Enforcement routes: Beyond platform reports, its site lists DMCA takedowns, domain seizures, host shutdowns and payment processor lockouts. That range matters when a copycat store keeps relisting, because cutting off its hosting or its card payments can stop a seller that a single marketplace removal would not.
  • Channel breadth: Its site names Amazon, Walmart, eBay, AliExpress, Etsy, Alibaba, Temu and SHEIN, plus Meta, Instagram, TikTok Shop and Pinterest, and copycat sites hosted on Shopify and WordPress. One team covers marketplaces, social media and the open web, so a brand does not need a separate tool for each.

Red Points

  • Published self-serve prices: Its self-serve configurator prices every part: a $938 monthly plan with unlimited detections and takedowns, $174 a month for one trademark, and marketplaces priced one by one, such as Amazon's 19 domains at $285. You can cost a programme before speaking to sales, which few vendors of its size allow.
  • Regional marketplaces: It claims coverage of 5,000+ marketplaces, and the configurator prices regional platforms such as Shopee, MercadoLibre, Lazada, OLX, Carousell and Flipkart alongside Amazon and eBay. Brands selling into Latin America or South-East Asia can add those markets rather than relying on a vendor that names only Western platforms.
  • Unmetered takedowns: Both the managed tiers and the self-serve plan are sold as flat fees with 'unlimited detections & takedowns' within scope, so a sudden spike in counterfeit listings does not raise the bill. You can also choose between running the platform yourself and having its team run it for you.

Limits to know about

  • Bustem: It does not publish a price; cost and scope are set on a call.
  • Bustem: Trademark filing watch and app stores are not among the channels its site lists.
  • Bustem: The brand signs a Power of Attorney and completes an intake form before Bustem files on its behalf.
  • Red Points: The self-serve route has a high floor: the $938 plan fee is charged on top of trademarks and marketplaces, and the order form asks for at least $1,250 a month.
  • Red Points: The managed tiers (Starter, Professional, Enterprise) are quoted on request, and the contract term is not published.
  • Red Points: Fake website protection is a separate add-on in the self-serve configurator rather than part of the base plan.

Pick Bustem if… pick Red Points if…

Pick Bustem if:

  • You want one team to file across marketplaces, social media and copycat sites, with no annual contract.
  • You want a written ROI guarantee to measure the service against.
  • You want enforcement that reaches hosts and payment processors, not only platform reports.

Pick Red Points if:

  • You sell across many regional marketplaces and want each one priced and covered under a flat fee.
  • You want to choose between running takedowns yourself and handing them to a managed team.
  • You need fake websites, social media, ads and mobile apps covered alongside marketplaces.

Switching between them

  1. 1

    Export your open cases

    Ask the vendor you are leaving for every open and recently filed report, with its evidence. Platforms track reports per rights owner, so reports already filed stay valid after you switch.

  2. 2

    Authorise the new vendor

    Sign its letter of authorisation or power of attorney, and revoke the old one with each platform where you registered an agent (Amazon Brand Registry, eBay VeRO, TikTok Shop IPPC).

  3. 3

    Hand over your registrations and allowlist

    Trademark numbers, official domains, marketplace stores and authorised resellers, so the new vendor never reports your own listings.

Summary

Bustem vs Red Points summary

From each company's own site, read 14 Oct 2026
BustemRed Points
Built forE-commerce brands selling through Shopify and Amazon; it says it has protected 160+ brands.Brands of all sizes; it says it is trusted by 1,300+ brands.
TypeManaged brand protection serviceManaged brand protection service
How it worksManaged. AI flags listings, Bustem's enforcement team confirms them and files under a Power of Attorney the brand signs.A detection and takedown platform the brand can run itself, or have fully managed by Red Points' team, on flat fees rather than per takedown.
Who reviews matchesBustem's teamYou on some platforms, Red Points' team on others
Who files the reportsBustem's teamYou on some platforms, Red Points' team on others
Copycat websites and lookalike domainsYes. Copycat sites on hosts such as Shopify and WordPress, including host shutdowns and domain seizures.Yes. Fake websites and domains; an optional add-on in the self-serve configurator.
Marketplace listingsYes. Amazon, Walmart, eBay, AliExpress, Etsy, Alibaba, Temu and SHEIN.Yes. It claims 5,000+ marketplaces, including Amazon, eBay, AliExpress, Walmart, Temu, TikTok Shop, Shopee and MercadoLibre.
Social media accountsYes. Meta, Instagram, TikTok Shop and Pinterest.Yes
Paid adsPartly. Google is listed; ad coverage is not detailed.Yes
Trademark filing watchNot stated on its siteNot stated on its site
App storesNot stated on its siteYes. Mobile apps.
Published priceNot published. Its site says 'No Annuals, No Lock-Ins'.Self-serve configurator: Brand Protection Plan $938/month (unlimited detections and takedowns), plus trademarks from $174/month for one trademark and marketplaces priced separately (Amazon, 19 domains, $285/month; all marketplaces and domains $820/month). Fake website protection is an optional add-on. Billed monthly, no setup fees; the order form asks for at least $1,250 a month. Managed tiers (Starter, Professional, Enterprise) are quoted on request.
Free trial or scanFree 15-minute 360° threat report, booked as a call.Free strategy call; its homepage showed a 'Get 1 month free' promotion on 14 Oct 2026.
ContractNo annual contract or lock-in, according to its site, and a published 500% ROI guarantee.Flat fee, not per takedown. The managed Starter tier covers up to 10 trademarks. Term length is not published.
Based inNewark, Delaware, US (address on its site).New York, US, with offices in Barcelona, Beijing and Salt Lake City.

Frequently asked questions

How much do Bustem and Red Points cost?

Bustem: Not published. Its site says 'No Annuals, No Lock-Ins'. Red Points: Self-serve configurator: Brand Protection Plan $938/month (unlimited detections and takedowns), plus trademarks from $174/month for one trademark and marketplaces priced separately (Amazon, 19 domains, $285/month; all marketplaces and domains $820/month). Fake website protection is an optional add-on. Billed monthly, no setup fees; the order form asks for at least $1,250 a month. Managed tiers (Starter, Professional, Enterprise) are quoted on request. Both from their own sites, read 14 Oct 2026.

Who files the takedowns, Bustem or Red Points?

With Bustem, its team files the reports for you. With Red Points, you file on some platforms and its team files on others.

Is there an alternative to both Bustem and Red Points?

Takedown, from $500 a month, month to month: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files across marketplaces, copycat stores and lookalike domains, and social accounts.

Sources, checked 14 Oct 2026

Hand it over

Want someone to find the copies and file the reports for you?

Takedown scans for copycat stores, lookalike domains, marketplace listings, impersonating social accounts and conflicting US trademark filings, a person checks every match, and nothing is filed until you approve it. Start with a free 360° report on your brand.

Related