StoreLock alternatives: how Takedown and others compare

Updated 14 Oct 20267 min readMatt Richard, Takedown

TL;DR

  • Takedown is a managed brand protection service for consumer brands: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files across marketplaces, copycat stores and lookalike domains, social accounts and ad libraries, with new US trademark filings in your classes watched, from $500 a month.
  • Pick Takedown over StoreLock if you want sign-off on everything filed in your name.
  • StoreLock is a Shopify app built for Shopify store owners worried about cloned storefronts and stolen product photos; pick it if you run a Shopify store and want clone and stolen-photo alerts for under $50 a month.
  • Both are compared from their own sites, read 14 Oct 2026, and the page ends with how a switch from StoreLock works.

Takedown and StoreLock both help a brand find copies of its products online and get them removed. This page sets out what they share, how each one works, where Takedown is the better buy, where StoreLock is, and how a switch works. Takedown (trytakedown.com) is not Takedown.co, the creator-piracy service.

What they have in common

Last updated: 14 Oct 2026. At a high level, both find copies of a brand online and get them taken down. Specifically:

  • Both cover copycat websites and lookalike domains.
  • Both publish their prices.
  • Both offer a free trial, scan or report before you pay.

That said, they differ on who does the work, what each covers and price. Where each one is the better buy is set out below, Takedown first.

How Takedown works

Managed. A person checks every match, you approve each case, and our team files with the platform, host and registrar. Nothing is filed until you approve the case.

  • Copycat websites and lookalike domains: Yes. Lookalike domains, certificate logs, Google search and reverse image search.
  • Marketplace listings: Yes. Amazon in 9 storefronts (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, NL, SE, PL), eBay in 8 (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, CA, AU), AliExpress, Alibaba, Temu, TikTok Shop, DHgate and Chrono24, plus any marketplace where Google Lens finds your product photos.
  • Social media accounts: Yes. Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and Threads accounts using your brand name.
  • Paid ads: Yes. Meta ads, and TikTok ads shown in the EU and UK.
  • Trademark filing watch: Partly. US (USPTO) applications and registrations using your brand name, in your goods classes. Not the EUIPO or UKIPO.
  • App stores: No

Price: From $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in; the quote comes with a free 360° report.

How StoreLock works

A Shopify app that detects store clones, impersonation domains and stolen photos for you to report from its dashboard; Enterprise adds assisted enforcement, where its team files. StoreLock says it is built for Shopify store owners worried about cloned storefronts and stolen product photos. With StoreLock, you file on some platforms and its team files on others.

  • Copycat websites and lookalike domains: Yes. Cloned storefronts, lookalike domains and image reuse across the web.
  • Marketplace listings: No
  • Social media accounts: No
  • Paid ads: Not stated on its site
  • Trademark filing watch: No
  • App stores: Not stated on its site

Price: Premium $19/month plus $0.20 per monitored image; Enterprise $399/month with unlimited image monitoring. Free offer: 3-day free trial.

Where Takedown is the better buy

You want sign-off on everything filed in your name. At Takedown a person checks every match, and nothing is filed under your brand until you approve the case. That keeps control of what goes to marketplaces, hosts and registrars under your trademark, with the evidence for each case in front of whoever approves it.

You want month-to-month terms. Takedown is month to month with no annual lock-in, from $500 a month, and the quote comes with a free 360° report of what is copying your brand now. StoreLock's site does not state its contract terms.

You want the filing done for you. With StoreLock, you file on some platforms yourself. Takedown's team files with the platform, host and registrar once you approve the case. You approve; you do not fill in forms.

You want matches checked before they reach you. StoreLock leaves reviewing matches to you. At Takedown a person checks every match first, so the approval queue holds real copies with evidence attached, not raw alerts.

Where StoreLock is the better buy

Low entry price. Premium costs $19 a month plus $0.20 per monitored image, so a store watching its 50 best-selling product photos pays $29 a month. That makes it one of the cheapest published ways to get alerts on cloned storefronts and stolen images.

Assisted enforcement. Enterprise, at $399 a month, adds 'Assisted Enforcement Support', where its team files the reports, along with unlimited image monitoring. A store can start by sending takedowns itself from the dashboard and move to having them filed without changing tools.

Track record on Shopify. Its Shopify listing dates from 30 June 2023 and held a 4.6-star rating from 10 reviews when we checked. Among clone-protection apps, many of which launched in 2025 or 2026 with few or no reviews, that is a longer public record.

Best StoreLock alternatives in 2026

Takedown and the closest substitutes for StoreLock, from what each says on its own site (read 14 Oct 2026).

Takedown from our own service; the others from their own sites, read 14 Oct 2026
ServiceBuilt forWho filesPublished price
TakedownConsumer brands, from fast-growing direct-to-consumer labels to established brands, selling through their own stores and on Amazon and other marketplaces in the UK, EU and US.Takedown's teamFrom $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in; the quote comes with a free 360° report.
Brand ProtectorDTC brands and e-commerce sellers; it was built by the founder of the pet-supplement brand Wuffes.You on some platforms, Brand Protector's team on others$199/month or $1,499/year. 'No per-detection fees' and 'No monthly takedown cap'.
ReconShopify merchants who want clone-store and lookalike-domain alerts and will send notices themselves.YouFree $0/month (weekly scans of 10 lookalike domains); Pro $50/month or $480/year (daily checks of 100 lookalike domains, 200 tracked).
SecurEcommerceSmall Shopify stores that want bot blocking and basic clone alerts in one security app.You on some platforms, SecurEcommerce's team on othersFree $0; Basic $10/month ($96/year); Grow $13/month ($124.80/year); Advanced $19/month ($182.40/year). The tier follows your Shopify plan.
ShadowShieldShopify stores, such as single-product stores, that want their landing and product pages watched for clones.YouBase $29.99/month (1 product); Plus $49.99/month (3 products); Pro $69.99/month (6 products); 25% off annual billing.

Limits to know about

  • Takedown: Its trademark watch covers US (USPTO) filings only. Brand Protector also watches the EUIPO, and Corsearch sells worldwide clearance and watch.
  • Takedown: Social accounts are found by searching each platform for your brand name, so an account that never uses the name is missed, and Pinterest is not searched.
  • Takedown: Etsy, Walmart and SHEIN are not searched directly; copies there are found through reverse image search.
  • StoreLock: It covers websites only: marketplace listings, social media accounts and trademark filings are not among its channels.
  • StoreLock: On Premium you send the takedowns yourself; assisted enforcement is an Enterprise feature at $399/month.
  • StoreLock: The per-image fee on Premium means the price rises with the number of photos you monitor.

Switching from StoreLock

  1. 1

    Export your open cases

    Ask StoreLock for the list of open and recently filed reports, with the evidence for each. Platforms track reports per rights owner, so cases already filed stay valid.

  2. 2

    Sign a letter of authorisation

    It lets our team file on your brand's behalf with marketplaces, hosts and registrars. It names Takedown as your agent and nothing else.

  3. 3

    Add your trademarks and official stores

    So we can cite registrations in reports and never flag your own domains, marketplace stores or authorised resellers.

  4. 4

    Approve the first cases

    We re-check the open copies from your export and new matches from the first scan. You approve each case before anything is filed.

Summary

Takedown vs StoreLock summary

Takedown from our own service; StoreLock from its site, read 14 Oct 2026
TakedownStoreLock
Built forConsumer brands, from fast-growing direct-to-consumer labels to established brands, selling through their own stores and on Amazon and other marketplaces in the UK, EU and US.Shopify store owners worried about cloned storefronts and stolen product photos.
TypeManaged brand protection serviceShopify app
How it worksManaged. A person checks every match, you approve each case, and our team files with the platform, host and registrar.A Shopify app that detects store clones, impersonation domains and stolen photos for you to report from its dashboard; Enterprise adds assisted enforcement, where its team files.
Who reviews matchesTakedown's teamYou
Who files the reportsTakedown's teamYou on some platforms, StoreLock's team on others
Copycat websites and lookalike domainsYes. Lookalike domains, certificate logs, Google search and reverse image search.Yes. Cloned storefronts, lookalike domains and image reuse across the web.
Marketplace listingsYes. Amazon in 9 storefronts (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, NL, SE, PL), eBay in 8 (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, CA, AU), AliExpress, Alibaba, Temu, TikTok Shop, DHgate and Chrono24, plus any marketplace where Google Lens finds your product photos.No
Social media accountsYes. Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and Threads accounts using your brand name.No
Paid adsYes. Meta ads, and TikTok ads shown in the EU and UK.Not stated on its site
Trademark filing watchPartly. US (USPTO) applications and registrations using your brand name, in your goods classes. Not the EUIPO or UKIPO.No
App storesNoNot stated on its site
Published priceFrom $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in; the quote comes with a free 360° report.Premium $19/month plus $0.20 per monitored image; Enterprise $399/month with unlimited image monitoring.
Free trial or scanFree 360° report of what is copying your brand; free tools with no signup.3-day free trial.
ContractMonth to month, no annual lock-in.Not stated on its site

Frequently asked questions

What are the best StoreLock alternatives?

For a consumer brand that wants the filing done for it, Takedown, from $500 a month: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files with the platform, host and registrar. The closest alternatives to StoreLock after that are Brand Protector, Recon, SecurEcommerce and ShadowShield.

How much does StoreLock cost?

Premium $19/month plus $0.20 per monitored image; Enterprise $399/month with unlimited image monitoring (from StoreLock's own site, read 14 Oct 2026). Takedown starts at $500 a month, month to month, and the quote comes with a free 360° report.

Does StoreLock file the takedowns for you?

With StoreLock, you file on some platforms and its team files on others. At Takedown a person checks every match and its team files once you approve each case.

Sources, checked 14 Oct 2026

Hand it over

Want someone to find the copies and file the reports for you?

Takedown scans for copycat stores, lookalike domains, marketplace listings, impersonating social accounts and conflicting US trademark filings, a person checks every match, and nothing is filed until you approve it. Start with a free 360° report on your brand.

Related