ShadowShield alternatives: how Takedown and others compare
TL;DR
- Takedown is a managed brand protection service for consumer brands: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files across marketplaces, copycat stores and lookalike domains, social accounts and ad libraries, with new US trademark filings in your classes watched, from $500 a month.
- Pick Takedown over ShadowShield if you want sign-off on everything filed in your name.
- ShadowShield is a Shopify app built for Shopify stores, such as single-product stores, that want their landing and product pages watched for clones; pick it if you sell one to six hero products and want their pages watched for clones.
- Both are compared from their own sites, read 14 Oct 2026, and the page ends with how a switch from ShadowShield works.
Takedown and ShadowShield both help a brand find copies of its products online and get them removed. This page sets out what they share, how each one works, where Takedown is the better buy, where ShadowShield is, and how a switch works. Takedown (trytakedown.com) is not Takedown.co, the creator-piracy service.
How Takedown works
Managed. A person checks every match, you approve each case, and our team files with the platform, host and registrar. Nothing is filed until you approve the case.
- Copycat websites and lookalike domains: Yes. Lookalike domains, certificate logs, Google search and reverse image search.
- Marketplace listings: Yes. Amazon in 9 storefronts (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, NL, SE, PL), eBay in 8 (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, CA, AU), AliExpress, Alibaba, Temu, TikTok Shop, DHgate and Chrono24, plus any marketplace where Google Lens finds your product photos.
- Social media accounts: Yes. Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and Threads accounts using your brand name.
- Paid ads: Yes. Meta ads, and TikTok ads shown in the EU and UK.
- Trademark filing watch: Partly. US (USPTO) applications and registrations using your brand name, in your goods classes. Not the EUIPO or UKIPO.
- App stores: No
Price: From $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in; the quote comes with a free 360° report.
How ShadowShield works
A Shopify app that hunts for copies of protected landing and product pages, warns and redirects visitors on clones, and generates forensic evidence for a DMCA claim the merchant files. ShadowShield says it is built for Shopify stores, such as single-product stores, that want their landing and product pages watched for clones. With ShadowShield, you review the matches and file the reports yourself.
- Copycat websites and lookalike domains: Partly. Cloned landing and product pages.
- Marketplace listings: Not stated on its site
- Social media accounts: Not stated on its site
- Paid ads: Not stated on its site
- Trademark filing watch: Not stated on its site
- App stores: Not stated on its site
Price: Base $29.99/month (1 product); Plus $49.99/month (3 products); Pro $69.99/month (6 products); 25% off annual billing. Free offer: 3-day free trial.
Where Takedown is the better buy
You want sign-off on everything filed in your name. At Takedown a person checks every match, and nothing is filed under your brand until you approve the case. That keeps control of what goes to marketplaces, hosts and registrars under your trademark, with the evidence for each case in front of whoever approves it.
You want month-to-month terms. Takedown is month to month with no annual lock-in, from $500 a month, and the quote comes with a free 360° report of what is copying your brand now. ShadowShield's site does not state its contract terms.
You want the filing done for you. With ShadowShield, you file the reports yourself. Takedown's team files with the platform, host and registrar once you approve the case. You approve; you do not fill in forms.
You want matches checked before they reach you. ShadowShield leaves reviewing matches to you. At Takedown a person checks every match first, so the approval queue holds real copies with evidence attached, not raw alerts.
Where ShadowShield is the better buy
Redirects clone visitors. Besides finding copies, it warns and redirects visitors who land on a clone of a protected page. Shoppers who reach a copied page can be sent back to your store while the takedown is pending, which limits lost sales during the days a clone stays up.
Low price per page. Plans start at $29.99 a month for one protected product and reach $69.99 for six, with 25% off annual billing. A store built around one or two hero products pays only for the pages that matter.
Forensic evidence. It generates forensic evidence for each clone it finds, ready for a DMCA claim. It also says it 'finds clones often before they launch', which gives you time to prepare a report before the copy starts taking orders.
Best ShadowShield alternatives in 2026
Takedown and the closest substitutes for ShadowShield, from what each says on its own site (read 14 Oct 2026).
| Service | Built for | Who files | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Takedown | Consumer brands, from fast-growing direct-to-consumer labels to established brands, selling through their own stores and on Amazon and other marketplaces in the UK, EU and US. | Takedown's team | From $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in; the quote comes with a free 360° report. |
| Brand Protector | DTC brands and e-commerce sellers; it was built by the founder of the pet-supplement brand Wuffes. | You on some platforms, Brand Protector's team on others | $199/month or $1,499/year. 'No per-detection fees' and 'No monthly takedown cap'. |
| StoreLock | Shopify store owners worried about cloned storefronts and stolen product photos. | You on some platforms, StoreLock's team on others | Premium $19/month plus $0.20 per monitored image; Enterprise $399/month with unlimited image monitoring. |
| Recon | Shopify merchants who want clone-store and lookalike-domain alerts and will send notices themselves. | You | Free $0/month (weekly scans of 10 lookalike domains); Pro $50/month or $480/year (daily checks of 100 lookalike domains, 200 tracked). |
| SecurEcommerce | Small Shopify stores that want bot blocking and basic clone alerts in one security app. | You on some platforms, SecurEcommerce's team on others | Free $0; Basic $10/month ($96/year); Grow $13/month ($124.80/year); Advanced $19/month ($182.40/year). The tier follows your Shopify plan. |
Limits to know about
- Takedown: Its trademark watch covers US (USPTO) filings only. Brand Protector also watches the EUIPO, and Corsearch sells worldwide clearance and watch.
- Takedown: Social accounts are found by searching each platform for your brand name, so an account that never uses the name is missed, and Pinterest is not searched.
- Takedown: Etsy, Walmart and SHEIN are not searched directly; copies there are found through reverse image search.
- ShadowShield: Protection is capped by product count: 6 products on the top plan.
- ShadowShield: You file the DMCA claims yourself; the app prepares the evidence.
- ShadowShield: Its Shopify listing launched on 27 July 2026 and had one review when we checked.
Switching from ShadowShield
- 1
Export your open cases
Ask ShadowShield for the list of open and recently filed reports, with the evidence for each. Platforms track reports per rights owner, so cases already filed stay valid.
- 2
Sign a letter of authorisation
It lets our team file on your brand's behalf with marketplaces, hosts and registrars. It names Takedown as your agent and nothing else.
- 3
Add your trademarks and official stores
So we can cite registrations in reports and never flag your own domains, marketplace stores or authorised resellers.
- 4
Approve the first cases
We re-check the open copies from your export and new matches from the first scan. You approve each case before anything is filed.
Summary
Takedown vs ShadowShield summary
| Takedown | ShadowShield | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Consumer brands, from fast-growing direct-to-consumer labels to established brands, selling through their own stores and on Amazon and other marketplaces in the UK, EU and US. | Shopify stores, such as single-product stores, that want their landing and product pages watched for clones. |
| Type | Managed brand protection service | Shopify app |
| How it works | Managed. A person checks every match, you approve each case, and our team files with the platform, host and registrar. | A Shopify app that hunts for copies of protected landing and product pages, warns and redirects visitors on clones, and generates forensic evidence for a DMCA claim the merchant files. |
| Who reviews matches | Takedown's team | You |
| Who files the reports | Takedown's team | You |
| Copycat websites and lookalike domains | Yes. Lookalike domains, certificate logs, Google search and reverse image search. | Partly. Cloned landing and product pages. |
| Marketplace listings | Yes. Amazon in 9 storefronts (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, NL, SE, PL), eBay in 8 (US, UK, DE, FR, IT, ES, CA, AU), AliExpress, Alibaba, Temu, TikTok Shop, DHgate and Chrono24, plus any marketplace where Google Lens finds your product photos. | Not stated on its site |
| Social media accounts | Yes. Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube and Threads accounts using your brand name. | Not stated on its site |
| Paid ads | Yes. Meta ads, and TikTok ads shown in the EU and UK. | Not stated on its site |
| Trademark filing watch | Partly. US (USPTO) applications and registrations using your brand name, in your goods classes. Not the EUIPO or UKIPO. | Not stated on its site |
| App stores | No | Not stated on its site |
| Published price | From $500 a month, month to month with no annual lock-in; the quote comes with a free 360° report. | Base $29.99/month (1 product); Plus $49.99/month (3 products); Pro $69.99/month (6 products); 25% off annual billing. |
| Free trial or scan | Free 360° report of what is copying your brand; free tools with no signup. | 3-day free trial. |
| Contract | Month to month, no annual lock-in. | Not stated on its site |
Frequently asked questions
What are the best ShadowShield alternatives?
For a consumer brand that wants the filing done for it, Takedown, from $500 a month: a person checks every match, you approve each case, and its team files with the platform, host and registrar. The closest alternatives to ShadowShield after that are Brand Protector, StoreLock, Recon and SecurEcommerce.
How much does ShadowShield cost?
Base $29.99/month (1 product); Plus $49.99/month (3 products); Pro $69.99/month (6 products); 25% off annual billing (from ShadowShield's own site, read 14 Oct 2026). Takedown starts at $500 a month, month to month, and the quote comes with a free 360° report.
Does ShadowShield file the takedowns for you?
With ShadowShield, you review the matches and file the reports yourself. At Takedown a person checks every match and its team files once you approve each case.
Sources, checked 14 Oct 2026
Hand it over
Want someone to find the copies and file the reports for you?
Takedown scans for copycat stores, lookalike domains, marketplace listings, impersonating social accounts and conflicting US trademark filings, a person checks every match, and nothing is filed until you approve it. Start with a free 360° report on your brand.
Related
Brand protection for established brands
Services for established consumer brands, ranked for fit.
Best brand protection companies
Twelve companies ranked, with who files and every published price.
Fake website takedown
How Takedown removes copycat stores and lookalike domains.
Every comparison
The full matrix of brand protection services, side by side.